आयुरस्मिन विन्द्येत अनेन वाऽयुर्विन्दति इत्यायुर्वेद: |

Ayurveda (Sanskrit: आयुर्वेद, Āyurveda; āyus ‘life’ + veda ‘(sacred) knowledge’) is the traditional Hindu system of medicine. It is regarded as the Upaveda or sub-scripture of the Athrva-veda. Ayurveda medicine, is a system of medicine with historical roots in the Indian subcontinent. Globalized and modernized practices derived from Ayurveda traditions are a type of complementary or alternative medicine. In the Western world, Ayurveda therapies and practices (which are manifold) have been integrated in general wellness applications and as well in some cases in medical use. It’s based on the belief that health and wellness depend on a delicate balance between the mind, body, and spirit. Its main goal is to promote good health, not fight disease. But treatments may be geared toward specific health problems.

Origin of Ayurveda is attributed to Lord Dhanvantari, the physician to the Gods as per Hindu mythology. It is believed from the astronomical records in ancient Vedic texts that Ayurveda, was in practice even before 4000 BC. Hence, it is evident that Ayurveda was very mature and predominant in India thousands of years ago.

The main classical Ayurveda texts begin with accounts of the transmission of medical knowledge from the Gods to sages, and then to human physicians. The most important Ayurvedic texts are the Charaka Samhita, Susruta Samhita and Ashtanga Hridayam. These texts analyse the human body in terms of earth, water, fire, air, and ether as well as the three energy channels (Tridosha: Kapha, Pitta, Vata roughly translated as – water, fire, and air). Balance of the doshas results in health, while imbalance results in disease.

स्वस्थस्य स्वास्थ्य रक्षणं च आतुरस्य विकार प्रशमंस्च: |

Main objectives of Ayurveda have been divided into two aspects namely:

1. Swasthasya Swathya Rakshanam – To protect and maintain the health of a healthy person (Preventive and Social medicine)

2. Aturasya Vikar Prashamanam – To treat the disease and giving relief to sick person (Therapeutics)

आयु: कामायमानेन धर्मार्थ सुखसाधनम् ।
आयुर्वेदोपदेशेषु विधेय: परमादर: ॥

As defined by World Health Organization (WHO), “Health is a state of complete physical, mental and social well-being and not merely the absence of disease or infirmity.” It is a resource for everyday life, not the objective of living. Health is a positive concept emphasizing social and personal resources, as well as physical capacities. A healthy society is a gathering of individuals and families living in different level. Air (Oxygen), food, water, clothes, habits, hygiene, exercise, shelter, rest, and different other entities influences health.

The purpose of Ayurveda is to protect the health of the healthy and to alleviate disorders of the diseased. Ayurveda has two different aspects viz., the Preventive aspect and the Curative aspect.

• The Preventive aspect deals with methods, recommendations, and ways of life, which if adopted and followed religiously from the beginning, can boost the strength and resistance of human beings physically, mentally, and emotionally in such a way that they can protect themselves from diseases.

• The Curative aspect deals with providing relief to the diseased. Ayurveda recommends the use of several herbs, massages, and therapies etc., and even recommends subtle alterations to dietary habits and lifestyle, for an affected individual to get back his/her state of good health.

समदोषा समाग्निश्चा समधातु मलक्रिय; |
प्रसनात्मेंद्रिय्माना; स्वस्थ इत्यभिधीयते ||

Ayurveda Practitioners believe that every person is made of five basic elements found in the universe: space, air, fire, water, and earth.These combine in the human body to form three life forces or energies, called doshas. They control how your body works. They are Vatadosha (space and air); Pitta dosha (fire and water); and Kaphadosha (water and earth).

Everyone inherits a unique mix of the three doshas. But one is usually stronger than the others. Each one controls a different body function. It’s believed that your chances of getting sick, and the health issues you develop are linked to the balance of your doshas.

कायबालग्रहोर्ध्वाङ्ग शल्यदंष्ट्रा जरावृषान् |
अष्टावङ्गानि तस्याहु: चिकित्सा येषु संश्रिता ||

1. Kaya Chikitsa – General medicine

2. Bala Chikitsa – Paediatrics

3. Graha Chikitsa – Psychiatry

4. Urdhvanga Chikitsa – Diseases and treatment of Ear, Nose, Throat, Eyes and Head

5. Shalya Chikitsa – Surgery

6. Damshrta Chikitsa – Toxicology

7. Jara Chikitsa – Geriatrics

8. Vrushya Chikitsa – Aphrodisiac therapy